Priesthood “Family Tree” so to speak

So, I had a friend ask about the set-up of the Priesthood, and I decided to post it here.  The Priesthood has two parts, the Aaronic and the Melchizedek Priesthoods.  The Aaronic Priesthood has less authority than the Melchizidek and differ in their duties.  Once you are ordained to an office, then you still have the authorty to perform the duty of the offices you have already filled, for example, a teacher can perform the duties of both a teacher and a deacon.

The Priesthood is largely in place for service, and these are strictly the basics.  If you want to know more about this, visit and for great resources and information.  Many of this is also stated in D&C 20 – here’s a link

Aaronic Priesthood:


Deacons:  Pass the Sacrament, Collect Fast Offerings

Teachers:  Prepare the Sacrament table, including the bread and water

Priests:  Have the authority to baptize.  Bless the Sacrament.


Melchizedek Priesthood:


Elder: conduct meetings, give blessings, administer in spiritual things, have all the authority of deacons, teachers, and priests

High Priest: Preside and hold the authority of Elders.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s